Posted by: kathryngraves | August 9, 2017

Vacation Mode

My mind has left me. No, not like that! It has gone into vacation mode. Unlike most of my friends, our vacation had to wait until the end of summer. My schedule up until August made me crazy. But at last, the time arrived for me to step back, relax, and enjoy a real vacation.

Earlier in the summer I tried substituting vacation planning for the actual vacation. In the evening I’d sit in a comfy chair with my laptop. I’d peruse possible cruises, all-inclusive resorts, and national parks. They looked nice–and expensive. With a sigh, I’d close my computer and pick up a book to read. At least my imagination could carry me far away.

Last week our kids met us at the lake for a week of watery fun. Some highlights:

  • Simply being together–We don’t all live in the same state, so family lake week is a treat
  • Reading on the deck in the afternoon.

IMG_0511

 

  • Long boat rides, water skiing, and tubing.

IMG_1268

  • Swimming at the boat dock.
  • Poppy and Carson fishing every morning.

IMG_0421

  • Gorgeous sunsets.
  • S’mores around a campfire.

We take other trips on holidays during the year, but family lake week is the best.

What is your favorite vacation place? Who are the people with whom you love to vacation?

The memories we make relaxing and having fun with family and friends are treasures that last for a lifetime. If you don’t regularly take vacations, let me encourage you to begin planning one. I promise you won’t regret it.

 

All Photos: Kathryn Graves

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

Categories

