Posted by: kathryngraves | June 7, 2017

Do You Want a Little Sparkle?

I lifted my creaky old wood ladder onto my shoulder and grabbed my window cleaning supplies. The morning was perfect–warm enough, but not hot, a light breeze keeping humidity at bay, and a clear blue sky with white puffy clouds overhead. Pulling the ladder open, I dug the back legs into ground still muddy from recent rains.

“That should keep it steady,” I told myself. This rickety ladder has seen a lot of projects over its years with me, and I still prefer it over the new metal one my husband drags around. Placing my foot on the bottom step, I tested for a tilt. So far, so good, so I climbed up high enough to reach the top of the window.

A sudden lurch bumped my nose into the glass. I grabbed the top of the ladder with one hand and the window frame with the other and froze, anticipating further movement. But nothing happened. Looking down, I realized the ladder rested against the house. Whew! Maybe Bo was right, and I should use the new ladder. Or maybe it was just the soft ground.

I washed that window and moved on to the others, with no more ladder mishaps. As the day progressed from warm to hot, I moved indoors to wash the insides of the windows. When I finished, I was amazed at how well I could see out through the sparkling glass. Were my windows really that dirty before? I wondered.

The only possible answer to my question was “yes.” The dirt must have accumulated over time. It had been several years since I’d washed the outsides–more than I’d like to admit. We live in an area where dirt comes down with the rain. The day I washed windows, I noticed dirt spots on my car left by a recent shower. Sometimes we even call a short snow shower in the winter a “snirt” shower because it’s half dirt, half snow.

While I’d like to blame it all on my climate, I know the real problem was that I had neglected the maintenance required to keep my windows sparkly-clean.

The Lord whispered a thought into my head as I stood contemplating my newly clean windows. “Your life is like your windows. Without regular maintenance, it will become dull and nobody will see Me.”

Okay, so how can I “wash” my spiritual life? The Bible compares itself to wash water. Ephesians 5:26 tells us “that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word.” This verse refers to Jesus and his relationship with the church. He uses the word, His word, to cleanse us. His word is the Bible.

Daily Bible reading helps us stay sparkly. When we read a section, ask three questions:

  1. What does it say?
  2. What does it mean?
  3. What does it mean for me?

I usually write down the answers in a journal so I don’t forget them.

This is really all we need to do. Whatever God tells us in our reading will help us live sparkling lives. It’s a lot easier than washing windows!

fruhjahrsputz-2151818_640

Photo: Pixabay

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

