Posted by: kathryngraves | March 14, 2017

Good News/Bad News

You know how you feel when you hear someone ask if you want the bad news first or the good news? That’s how I felt after my last annual cancer check-up. Not because the news about me was bad. Not at all. I am clear. No, it was the information in some brochures I picked up in the resource room at the cancer clinic.

New research results come out almost every day about how to prevent cancer, what might cause cancer, and possible new treatment options for cancer patients. If you’re like me, the first two of these grab your attention. Nobody wants to get cancer. And no survivor wants to get it again.

The Question

The problem is, the picture is increasingly clear: everything causes cancer. There are environmental hazards, food hazards, lifestyle choice hazards, and on and on it goes. What is a person supposed to do with all this information? How can we live in such a way that we  still have a life while avoiding as many risk factors as possible?

The Answer

As Dr. Seuss said, “Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.” The answer this time is found in the word simple. This word is often over-used, but if we remember it in relation to how to prevent cancer, we can cut through the fog of advice to find the truth.

Food

When shopping for food or household cleaning products, read labels. The best items don’t require a label because they only have one ingredient. For example, what’s in an apple? One thing–an apple. Fresh or frozen whole food is what we should eat. We can make fancier dishes by combining one-ingredient items. Choosing organic when possible also makes a huge difference. Research has shown that after only one week of eating exclusively organic produce, the pesticide levels in a person’s body drop dramatically.

Environment

I clean with one-ingredient products. Water, vinegar, baking soda, and a variety of essential oils work wonders on dirt and grime. I also invest in anti-bacterial microfiber cleaning cloths that disinfect and clean surfaces using only water.

House plants purify the air and a charcoal filter for water gets rid of many harmful contaminants.

Body

Since obesity is a strong risk factor for many diseases, I try to stay physically fit. I’m not as successful as I’d like to be, but my weight is controlled and I walk as much as possible. Ten thousand steps a day might sound rigid, but it is a good goal. At least it keeps me moving. Whatever activity you enjoy is best for you. The important thing is that you move throughout the day.

A healthy lifestyle is built on choices. Choose the simple things. Then you can relax and know you’ve done your part to prevent not only cancer, but many chronic diseases.

Mind and Spirit

The final choice to make is to trust Jesus with your future. We can rest in His plan for us and know that it is good. (Jeremiah 29:11) Keep a gratitude journal, meditate on Scripture each morning and pray about whatever worries you.

These are the keys to a life the Bible describes as abundant. The kind of life I want, and I’m sure you do, too. Will you join me in the quest to live healthy? I have too many things I want to do with my life to live any other way.

apple-1702316_640

Photo: Pixabay

Responses

  1. This is such an uplifting post Kathy!! I love the information you have provided!! I’m so happy that you are 6 years clean of cancer!! God Bless!

  2. Some very good advice.

  3. Such helpful info, Kathy! Great post!

  4. Inspirational, thank you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

