Posted by: kathryngraves | March 2, 2017

Beautiful People

When you see the phrase “beautiful people” what comes to mind? The famous? Rich? Hollywood glamour? The women in the airport who seem professional and to have it all together?

I’m a people watcher. It’s hard for me to read when I’m in an airport or at the beach, or anywhere most people while away the time with their nose in a book. I’m afraid I’ll miss something. I imagine the stories of the people I see based on not only how they look, but who they’re with or where their destinations are (known by the gate where they sit). Children fascinate me, so if there are any around when I’m at the beach, I can forget watching anything else. Except maybe the shore birds. They are also cute and funny.

The people I see who I consider beautiful are usually the women who know how to wear their hair, make-up and clothes. They have a flair of personality about them. But that’s all I have to go on. Unless I’m seated next to someone in a captive environment, I don’t have a chance to interact with them. I can’t get to know them and find out what they’re really like. I know looks can be deceiving and some of these outwardly beautiful people may not really be beautiful at all.

Because beauty, as they say, is more than skin deep. While my readers know I am an advocate of taking good care our bodies and making an effort to look our best, that is not really what life is all about. Unfortunately, I know people for whom good health has almost become their religion, and others who are so wrapped up in the latest colors, styles and fashions that they are otherwise shallow.

What makes a person truly beautiful? We don’t have to look any further than Snow White to know. This princess personified beauty. She was kind, compassionate, helpful and sweet. While Snow White shows us, the Bible tells us. In Ephesians 4:32, Paul tells us to “…be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.” (NKJ)

Behaving in beautiful ways comes from filling our minds with beautiful thoughts. Once again, the Bible is instructive. Philippians 4:8 tells us what to think about: “Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.” (NKJ)

Let’s take time today to pay attention to our thoughts. I want to be intentional about what I allow into my mind. You know the old analogy. I am like the control tower at the airport. Thoughts are like airplanes. Only thoughts with permission to land can stay in my mind. All the others just have to fly on by. I’ve decided to name my airport Intentional Beauty.

img_1393

The most beautiful dress I’ve ever worn, courtesy of my Korean sisters, Kelly and Carrie.

Responses

  1. Love your focus on intentional beauty. Inspiring!

  2. Gorgeous! Thank you for sharing God’s beauty with me.

  3. I’ve never seen a dress like this before. Your beauty shines through! Thank you for sharing the picture and the insight.

    • Thank you, Skeeter! The dress is a traditional Korean one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

