Posted by: kathryngraves | October 22, 2015

Starting Over

Junk food junket. Last weekend I travelled to northwest Arkansas for a giant craft fair bonanza. In three days my friends and I shopped 8 shows plus an Amish bakery and a vintage furniture store. We loaded Carolyn’s conversion van to the hilt for the trip home and laughed most of the miles away.

By the time we headed home, my body felt loaded to the hilt with all the junk food I consumed. From fried corn dogs and pumpkin pie concrete (a frozen custard dessert) to fried chicken and pumpkin spice latte, cinnamon rolls and pecan brittle, the only remotely healthy thing I ate was one salad at Wendy’s.

We pulled into my driveway at 8:30 Saturday night. I fell into bed at 11:00 and got a full night’s sleep, but all day Sunday my insides felt twisted into knots. Nothing I ate settled well. I had a headache and zero energy. I knew the weather blew pollen around that I am allergic to, and I knew I was tired, but the GI tract issues I traced directly to my overindulgence. It just doesn’t pay to fall that far off the wagon.

ID-10044210

Back on the wagon. You might be wondering what my normal “on the wagon” eating includes and leaves out. Sugar and bread are left out. Vegetables, fruits, meat (mostly chicken), eggs, and green tea and water are in. Processed foods are out and fresh, mostly organic, foods are in.

I haven’t always eaten this way. But my bout with breast cancer changed me in many ways, and one is that I am passionate about good nutrition and helping others eat the way I do. I want you to live a longer, healthier, more productive life.

Food matters.  The money raised in cancer awareness campaigns has funded studies discovering new treatments that are both more effective and easier on the patient. But it has also gone toward studies on prevention. One of the most dramatic things we have learned is that diet and exercise are directly linked to effective prevention. What we eat really does matter.

Starting over. So today I will start over. There is no shame in getting back on the wagon after I’ve fallen off. One failure is no reason to give up. In fact, I need to start over pretty often. I’m not perfect and I don’t eat at home every day. Eating out presents challenges I am still learning to navigate. As I do, I’ll share my discoveries with you. But for now, for today, I will only eat real, healthy food. And every healthy eating day is one less junk food day. One small step …

Let’s do this together!

ID-10027403

Responses

  1. Good post Kathy! I’ve been doing this also. Since I started avoiding bread and sugar I can’t tell you how much better I feel! Also lost 10lbs…yay!

    • I’m so happy to hear it, Nancy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

