Posted by: kathryngraves | October 30, 2012

The Lord, He is Not Far

“From one man (God) has made every nationality to live over the whole earth and has determined their appointed times and the boundaries of where they live. He did this so they might seek God, and perhaps they might reach out and find Him, though He is not far from each one of us, and in Him we live and move and have our being . . .” Acts 17:26-28 HCSB

In this address of Paul to the Athenians, he stated a truth full of hope for all of us. No matter how we feel, no matter what the circumstances of our lives might be, the Lord is near, and He has a plan.

The Whirlpool. I feel unable to move forward with my work; like I’m caught in a whirlpool sending me around in circles. I’m going fast, but getting nowhere. Many projects call out to me, but I’m only able to grab snippets as I swirl past. My health continues to be the thing holding me in place. Now that I’m cancer-free, I’ve tried to resume the old, normal pace. It isn’t working. The only thing I succeeded in doing was running my fledgling immune system down so that I can’t fight infection.

Wrong Focus. The word “I” showed up many times in the previous paragraph because that’s where my focus has been. In times like these, I need to remember how near the Lord is. That I can do nothing apart from Him anyway. That nothing happens to me outside of His permission. That maybe my condition is something I brought on myself.

Right Focus. God didn’t give me tasks to do or a ministry calling for my benefit alone, or so I would be glorified. He put me where He wanted me to be. He designed a grand plan and allowed me to plug-in. If I’m floundering, it’s because I’ve forgotten the whole thing is His idea, not mine. His timing is perfect. Boundaries are set for my good, so that I might seek Him instead of depending on myself.

It is in these low points that I look up. And then I see the hand of God reaching toward me. Ready to help. Ready to envelop me into His arms and enable me to move and live and work at what He plans for me to do. Then comfort follows, a warm wrap around my shoulders and over my toes against the chill of self-doubt.

As I relax into His care, I find the whirlpool has ebbed. My boundaries are secure, the Lord is near, and my being is caught up in His.

Leave a Reply

Categories

