Posted by: kathryngraves | September 25, 2012

God’s Way or Mine?

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

My Way. I am a planner and dreamer. I create many lovely scenarios for the rest of my life. I also create them for my children’s lives. When I’ve chosen either the “best” one, or the one most likely in the present circumstances, I start making lists. I lay out all the things “we” need to do to make the chosen scenario a reality. The next set of lists breaks down the first list into measurable, daily objectives. Each day, I take a hard look at what is essential to accomplish. I separate those things onto another list and that one rules the day.

Professional organizers might say my method is a good one for accomplishing goals. And it does work pretty well. Until an unforseen opportunity arises or a disaster occurs. Then the best laid plans . . . well, you know the rest.

God’s Way. Why does that happen? Proverbs 25:2 says, “It is the glory of God to conceal a matter, but the glory of kings is to search out a matter.” Combined with Proverbs 16:9, we can deduce that God wants us to focus on Him instead of our plans. He wants us to seek Him, and then He will lead us.

His Way is Mysterious. Instead of laying out plans and making lists, God wants us to join Him in the Great Mystery. When we embrace His mystery, we find freedom from the constraint of our lists. We look for the unexpected. We trust God for the outcome. We gain security that remains elusive as long as we depend on ourselves. We like to head for something we can define. Something we can envision. It seems concrete. But God’s ways are so much loftier than ours that we can’t always wrap our minds around them. The beauty of trusting Him is that we don’t have to.

My Way is Sinful. Reliance on our own plans discounts God’s activity in our lives and so it becomes sin. It takes the place of God and becomes an idol. Instead, embrace the mystery of God and seek His plan for your life.

My cancer experience illustrated this truth. I never would have planned to go through that. But God knew He needed to grab the steering wheel out of my hands and drive me down the road He chose. It led to a better destination than anything I could have dreamed up.

Photo/CelticCastles.com/Glengorm Castle Driveway

Leave a Reply

Categories

