Posted by: kathryngraves | September 21, 2012

Sing Again

“It is good to give thanks to the Lord, and to sing praises to Your name, O Most High; to declare Your lovingkindness in the morning, and Your faithfulness every night.” Psalm 92:1-2

Sometimes thanking the Lord and singing praises to Hm come with ease and spontaneity. Other times it is a matter of pure obedience. There are periods of life when concurrent circumstances make us both want to sing and cry our eyes out.

It is good to give thanks unto the Lord. What we have to do is move beyond our emotions. This verse doesn’t say anything about how we feel or what the circumstances might be. It says it is good to give thanks to the Lord. There are at least a few things to be thankful for in the worst of times. If absolutely everything is in the tank, I have my salvation and assurance of heaven. But the deathbed is the only time there is nothing else to be thankful for. We live in a beautiful world. Take time to go out and see it.

And to sing praises to Your name, O Most High. I am a member of the worship team at our church. We lead the song service every Sunday and practice every Wednesday. It doesn’t matter how bad a day I’ve had on Wednesdays. After choir practice I am revived. I am required to learn my part well enough to sing without sheet music. The songs become part of me. I wake up every morning with a refrain running through my mind. I listen to Christian radio in my car. Last fall when I drove every morning to radiation treatment, the songs I sang along with in my car helped give me the fortitude to endure.

To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning. There is just something fresh about morningtime. We have made it through another night. It sounds cliché, but it’s true: each new day holds promise. I write in a room with large windows on two sides. The morning light filtering through the branches and highlighting the flowers on my crape myrtle bush make it appear almost luminous. God loves me. This fact is good to recall in the morning. This reality will help me face the day. If nothing else tuns out well, God still loves me.

And Your faithfulness every night. God is faithful. We can stand on this truth. We can stake our lives on it. This is the glue that holds everything else together. Remember it. Declare it. That means we have to use our vocal chords. Say it out loud. God is faithful.

If we begin and end our days with praise and thanksgiving–as a discipline–the “mully grubbies” will flee. We will be open for the Lord to pour in His strength. We will become powerful, positive forces for Him.

Watch out world.

Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos/stockimages

Leave a Reply

Categories

