Posted by: kathryngraves | August 28, 2012

A Peaceful Mind

“God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7

No Fear. I’m not afraid of much anymore. I’ve stared down cancer, physical pain and major emotional trauma. I’ve learned to let the Lord send angels to minister to me and help me through those things.

Emotional Turmoil. But I have a confession to make. The last few days have been a period of dangling by my fingernails from the end of my emotional rope. I didn’t realize how bad it was until this morning when I sat down for my Bible reading and prayer time. I’m reading through Fear Not: A Promise Book by Max Lucado. When I opened the book at my marker, I saw this verse placed in the center of the left page. His commentary on the right page ended with these words: Hysteria is not from God.

Mental Hysteria. While I have not been verbally hysterical, the word does describe my emotional state. Many events converged, some of which I could control, most of which I could not. Some were pleasant–intensely so, and some were not at all, including sitting with a family at the hospital while their son passed away. It was this convergence of events, deadlines and responsibilities, and emotional swings that sent me into mental hysteria. I have to admit, in all honesty, that my Bible reading was sporadic and my prayers offered in spurts as I dashed around.

Peace. This morning, God said, “Stop. Sit. Listen.” Within seconds of reading this verse, my equilibrium was restored. I still have deadlines and pressures. We still grieve. But now I won’t go through it with an unstable mind.

I don’t know what you face today. But I do know you don’t have to face it alone. Take time to read the Bible and pray. We have so much to do, we can’t afford not to spend time with the Lord first. Let’s call it hysteria prevention.

“You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in You.” Isaiah 26:3

Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos/Frustrated Caucasian Woman by stockimages

Leave a Reply

Categories

