Posted by: kathryngraves | August 14, 2012

Alone No More

He had to enter into every detail of human life. Then, when he came before God as high priest to get rid of the people’s sins, he would have already experienced it all himself–all the pain, all the testing–and would be able to help where help was needed. Hebrews 2:17-18 MSG

When we suffer, we feel so alone. Nobody else has gone through exactly what we have. When I was first diagnosed with breast cancer, in desperation I sought a daily devotional book written by a cancer survivor. I wanted to read stories about women’s experiences with the disease. I spent hours on websites hosted by medical professionals, learning what to expect.

But as I progressed through treatment, my world shrank. Friends, even those who had fought cancer themselves, stopped coming over as often. They were afraid their visits would exhaust me. While that was true, I longed for them anyway. Visitors distracted me from my misery.

No Visitors. And that was the problem. Other people didn’t understand my experience. They couldn’t. When my friend, Lisa, lost her husband and son, her world shrank, too. People didn’t know what to say or how to approach her, so they stayed away. It seems like when we need others the most, we find fewer who can walk the road we travel alongside us.

Comforter. That’s why these verses are so comforting. Jesus suffered pain, loss rejection, emotional turmoil–everything. I discovered a whole new level in my relationship with Him as I faced horrible procedures and endured unimaginable pain. Jesus was right beside me, going through it all with me. It was as if He held my hand or wrapped His arms around me when no one else – not even my husband – could be there. And I knew, really knew, that Jesus Christ understood.

Lisa knows it, too. My prayer is that you do as well. Because whether we realize it or not, Jesus is there, ready to comfort. He is also before God, praying, interceding for us as our high priest.

Settle in for a visit with Him, my friend.

Leave a Reply

Categories

