Posted by: kathryngraves | August 7, 2012

Sit Tight

“Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning. For in You do I trust; Cause me to know the way in which I should walk, For I lift up my soul to You.” Psalm 143:8

“Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land; for I will not leave you until I have done what I have spoken to you.” Genesis 28:15

One day, in the middle of my chemo, when I realized that part of me was actually killed in the process, I had a vision. In it, I sat beside a river. I could remember falling over the top of a waterfall, tumbling down through the boulders, and landing in swift current. Washed downstream, I floated to a wide part of the river, where Jesus came out to meet me and guided me to the bank. On dry land, He pulled me into His lap.

I wanted to stay, but I also wanted to run. As I checked the terrain for a possible escape route, all I saw were trees shrouded in thick fog. I couldn’t find any trail, so my only option was to sit tight. As Jesus wrapped His arms around me, He told me that’s what He wanted me to do. Just sit with Him.

After the vision, it was easier to accept my physical limitations while they lasted. It helped me fully know that if I trusted God, He would show me the way I should go . . . when it was time.

Eventually, the “fog” cleared and I began the hike out of the land of cancer. I have walked with clear direction from the Lord and am now certain I follow His plan for me. But life is hectic.

Today I realized, again, that I must begin every day seated in Jesus’ lap and not try to see through the trees. It is enough to sit tight. Worry, trying to plan our futures, and the need to control what happens, are all forms of the same sin: failure to trust. Let’s choose to enjoy God’s presence instead.

Photo/”Beauty Cascade” by Christian Meyn/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

