Posted by: kathryngraves | August 3, 2012

Walking the Valley

I wrote the following in September, 2011 to my friend, Lisa. I was still in treatment for cancer and her husband had recently passed away.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

Waterfall. When I was first diagnosed with cancer, I didn’t feel like I was walking. Walking implies propelling myself. I felt more like I’d been pushed over the edge of a cliff-type waterfall, hitting boulders on the way down, and then swept down the wild river at the bottom, through the rapids. After a while, I settled down some, but I still felt like I was being pushed along where I didn’t want to go.

Arrive. I guess that’s how one usually arrives at the valley of the shadow of death. No one would go there voluntarily. But it is there where ” . . . thy rod and thy staff, they comfort me.” If we don’t need comfort, He can’t comfort us. It is in this valley where we find a deep, other side to our relationship with God.

Hike. After some time, walking is what I did. When I found myself at the bottom of the chasm, I had to walk along the stream bed until I found an opening where I could walk out. I’m there now, beginning the hike out, guided by the Master’s hand. I’m never alone.

Exercise. Yesterday, the radiation oncologist asked me if I was exercising. I had to admit I wasn’t. His face took on a stern look and he told me I must walk thirty minutes a day, six days a week. That it is part of my recovery. So I got out this morning and walked fifteen minutes. It was all I could manage. But the doctor did tell me I could work up to the thirty minutes, so that’s what I’ll have to do.

Recover. Will you walk with me for six weeks? I need to have a partner. And I’m guessing you would also benefit from physical walking. We’re already walking the valley together anyway. Both kinds of walking will be keys to our recoveries.

To my blog readers: Will you walk with me, too? Let me know if you plan to join me. We can pray for each other as we walk.

Waterfall Photo/Microsoft Sample Pictures

Friends Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

