Posted by: kathryngraves | June 29, 2012

Moving Forward

“‘Moses My servant is dead. Now therefore, arise, go over this Jordan, you and all this people, to the land which I am giving to them–the children of Israel.'”  “‘Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid,nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.'” Joshua 1:2 and 9

When we are grieving the loss of a loved one, it can be difficult to know how or when to begin picking up the pieces and move on. Joshua and Moses were very close, almost like brothers. Joshua was Moses’ assistant and he was with Moses in the tent outside the camp and later the Tabernacle. He was the one who waited forty days on the mountain for Moses to come back down–twice! He felt the loss of Moses maybe more keenly than anyone. But after thirty days of mourning, God told Joshua to go be the leader. He couldn’t afford to stay still in his grief. The people needed him.

If you’re grieving a death, who in your life needs you to lead them? Who is looking to you for guidance on what to do next?

I am grieving the loss of someone very special to me. My heart is absolutely shattered and I don’t know how to navigate this desolate, empty feeling inside me. I cried every day for weeks. Until I read these verses.

But as for actually moving forward, how do we know what to do, what direction to take? Verse nine tells us. The Lord will guide us. Not only that, He will go with us. He never expects us to go anywhere without Him, and He never forgets where we are.

Join me in watching and listening for our Companion as He walks beside us.

Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

