Posted by: kathryngraves | June 26, 2012

Are You a Well-Watered Garden?

“The Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your soul in drought, and strengthen your bones; You shall be like a watered garden, and like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.” Isaiah 58:11

The picture of a garden watered by an artesian well is perfect for me. I’m interested now in organic eating and gardening. I want to plant in my backyard, but the location of our water hydrant makes it difficult. It is located on the far side of the house away from the only suitable, sunny garden plot. I may have to settle for containers on the deck and herbs in the dining room bay window. This will be inferior to my needs, but will have to do.

However, the Lord is always aware of my spiritual needs and His supply of water is always more than enough.

We used to live in Hot Springs, Arkansas. It is so named for its therapeutic waters, but there are also many artesian wells in the area. The most famous of these supplies the Mountain Valley Water company. But rather than pay money for spring water, we would take our empty milk cartons downtown or to Three Sisters spring and fill them with fresh, delicious, pure drinking water. The supply was never affected by how much was collected and never in danger of running low. That was twenty years ago and the waters still gush today with plenty of volume. In contrast to never running dry from over-use, the springs would flow whether anyone used the water or not.

God says He’ll make us like a spring of water whose waters never fail. And He says He’ll make us like a well-watered garden. As for being a garden, we’ll always be full of good produce because of the quality and amount of water supplied. No drought-shriveled lettuce here!

When I reached the bottom of despair and suffering, when I was depressed over events in my life that I couldn’t control, when I felt so drained I couldn’t even lift my eyes, let alone raise my head, I read this verse. I could almost literally feel my shrunken soul revive in the fresh spring-water of the Lord’s grace as it filled me up.

Won’t you soak up the water as you read the Bible and allow God’s words to hydrate your soul? If you need a plan or want to read along with me, read my other blog at www.KathrynGraves.blogspot.com. I’m reading the Bible through and writing devotional thoughts based on my reading on that site.

Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

