Posted by: kathryngraves | June 22, 2012

Strong Holder

“The Lord is good, a stronghold in the day of trouble; and He knows those who trust in Him.” Nahum 1:7

We usually think of strongholds as bad things that get control of us. But the Lord is described as a stronghold in this verse. My mental image is of a limp person being gripped at the shoulders and held up in the air by a huge pair of hands. Strong hands.

The kind of grief or illness that knocks your legs out from under you leaves you crumpled on the floor. But the Lord will pick you up and carry you.

My friend Lisa and I know this very well. The days when her husband and then her son passed away were horrendous. The day of my cancer diagnosis, and again the day the ultra-sound showed very little shrinkage of the tumor, my knees went weak. I had no strength at all of my own to go on. But I did go on. Somehow I made it through each day and I knew it was the Lord who provided my strength.

Physical Strength. During my chemo treatment, my husband rose first in the mornings. He trudged into the kitchen, pulled out the juice machine, and dug around in the refrigerator for carrots, celery, apples, and beets so he could make me a fresh, tall glass of juice. He brought it to the bedroom and I drank it in bed. Only then did I have enough energy for my shower.

Spiritual Strength. During the day, I received scripture text messages from a friend. Reading each one gave me spiritual fortitude to make it another few hours. In this manner, hour by hour, I survived four months of chemo. And, hour by hour, the Lord became more and more of a strong tower for me.

Future Strength. As a result of my experience, my physical eating patterns have changed dramatically and I cling to the Lord every day, consuming scripture. He is the very foundation of each day and I wonder how I could have been even a little apathetic about faith in my former life.

Photos/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

