Posted by: kathryngraves | June 12, 2012

The Sounds of Lovingkindness

“Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning, For in You do I trust; Cause me to know the way in which I should walk, For I lift up my soul to You.” Psalm 143:8

What does God’s lovingkindness sound like? And why does the psalmist ask to hear it in the morning?

Why? We who suffer know the nights are the worst times. During my chemo the pain was most intense at night. My emotions would also overwhelm me at night. Crying almost the whole night wasn’t uncommon. It’s the same for those who suffer grief. We’re somehow more vulnerable at night. I actually wrote this in the middle of the night because I was too uncomfortable to sleep. Grief can make it hard to sleep, too. It marks us forever and we are most aware of its long-term effects at night. So we long for the morning.

What? I think birds singing is part of it. Birds love the morning and chirp it out. I’m sure God provided their song for us in His lovingkindness. It also sounds like absolute quiet. My thoughts stop whirling and I’m at peace. It’s a whisper from the Holy Spirit that tells me He loves me and will take care of me.

Trust. And then I realize I really do trust Him. Because I can; He’s trustworthy. He’s my spiritual GPS. My insurance and management green line to walk on. It is refreshing to be able to know that He’ll show me what to do, where to turn. There are many decisions to make when dealing with grief or disease. But all we have to do is lift up our souls to God. And we can do that for each other. So right now I lift us both up.

“Oh Lord, help my reader and me. We choose to turn to You. We lift our faces and offer ourselves to You. Let us hear Your lovingkindness in the morning. We trust You.”

Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

