Posted by: kathryngraves | June 5, 2012

My Desired Haven

“They reel to and fro and stagger like a drunken man, and are at their wits’ end. Then they cry out to the Lord in their trouble, and He brings them out of their distresses. He calms the storm so that the waves are still. Then they are glad because they are quiet; so He guides them to their desired haven.” Psalm 107:27-29

Staggering. I sent this verse by text message to my friend, Lisa, one day when her son, Andrew, lay in a coma in the hospital. Almost immediately, my phone beeped, letting me know a new message had arrived. It was Lisa, telling me that she was like the ones described in the verses right then, running around, terrified. She was beginning to sense the worst. And a few days later, it happened. Andrew passed away.

At our wits’ end. Just after my cancer diagnosis, my family and I were in the same, panicked state. Before I saw the oncologist, all we knew was that the tumor was large and aggressive. Watching death approach is flat-out terrifying. We are at our wits’ end. We just don’t know how to cope and we don’t know what might be next.

Then they cry out to the Lord in their trouble. When I cried out to the Lord, He heard me. He, in essence, took me by the shoulders and guided me through my “storm.” It took a long time and events stayed stormy all around me. But Jesus was guiding me, staying with me. And gradually the storm eased.

He brings them out. First He helped me “out of my distresses” by calming me. Then He calmed my suffering. The noise subsided. I was quiet, and the calamity around me receded. I am glad, because I became quiet inside. I stopped fighting what was happening and began to look for how God wanted to use it for His glory.

Okay, so honestly that would last about twenty-four hours and then I’d find myself fighting and anxious again. And then I’d cry out again. And God would take me by the shoulders again and point me in the right direction.

They are glad. Only now, a full year into the ordeal, and on the tail end of it, am I able to really realize the quiet. My desired haven has always been a life fully controlled by the Lord, and the storm helped me to that end. Lisa tells me she’s being helped to that desired end, too.

Haven. We don’t sail alone. The Lord is always out in front, and in our boat, and coming behind. All at the same time. All to help us through our storms.

Photo/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Leave a Reply

Categories

