Posted by: kathryngraves | May 29, 2012

My Help

“I will lift up my eyes to the hills–from whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2

Sometimes it helps to go outside and ponder all that the Lord has made. I’m really an outdoor girl. I can’t stand the thought of ever having to live in a place where I don’t have at least a balcony on which to grow plants and flowers. When I was so ill from the effects of chemotherapy, there were whole months when all I could do was lie on my sofa and stare out my front window for hours at a time. Just contemplating the tree in my yard, the flowers under it, and the grass as the seasons changed was a solace. And it reminded me of Who was really, and still, in charge.

My friend, Lisa, lives in a resort town nestled in the beautiful Ozark mountains. One of my sons lives in Denver, Colorado, with panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains from his office window. I love to visit both places, because a long time ago I discovered the power of mountains to cause whatever was wound up tight inside me to unwind. The summer I was fifteen, I spent a month at a camp in the Blue Ridge mountains. I thought then, and still think now, that was about as close to heaven as one gets on earth.

We don’t have many hills in Kansas, but we have a lot of sky. At night the stargazing here is phenomenal. My son who lives here has learned the night sky and helps me find constellations and planets I would otherwise never have realized are there.

Paying close attention to the natural world around us brings home the reality of how big and powerful our God is. And then we understand a little better the power extended to us from the Lord. He made all that and He wants to help me. Wow.

What is your favorite part of the natural world? When you want to hear God speak in the solitude of nature, where do you go? If you’re dealing with grief or illness, try to get outside (or at least find a good window) every day for a bit.

Photos/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Responses

  1. As you know Miss Kathy I have a lovely covered back porch and deck, I love to sit out there in the morning with my coffee and just listen to the birds and the wind in the trees and that is what winds me down. I wonder how anyone can see all that and not feel close to the creator.

    • Ah yes, I forgot to mention the Kansas wind! But seriously, all of creation speaks His name.

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

Categories

