Posted by: kathryngraves | May 7, 2012

Remember the Dance

“The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying: ‘Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. Again I will build you, and you shall be rebuilt, O virgin of Israel! You shall again be adorned with your tambourines, And shall go forth in the dances of those who rejoice.'” Jeremiah 31:3-4

I know, when we’re at the bottom of the pit of suffering, it’s really hard to grab hold of this promise. I even rejected it for a while because it was so foreign to my experience. I just didn’t know if I really believed it. Honestly, I thought there was a real possibility I’d stay sick with cancer the rest of whatever life span I might have. This was true even though the doctors, the “experts,” assured me my cancer was curable. They just never told me I would, in fact, be cured. They had to leave a margin for error.

But God doesn’t need a margin for error! He let us know “of old,” before the calamity came crashing in on us, that He would rebuild us. We’ll be like virgins with tambourines headed to a dance.

Do you remember how exciting it was to get ready for Prom? How full of anticipation? How we wanted to shout to the world that a certain somebody had invited us? Do you remember how delightful it was to choose just the right dress? How we planned to dance the whole night?

That’s how God promised we will feel again. Okay, I might not be physically able to dance a whole night anymore because somebody forgot to tell my bones that 50 is the new 30! But I’ll feel like rejoicing and my feet will at least tap.

Yours will, too. God promised. And I know now how important it is to find a promise verse and cling to it. On days when we think we might not survive, we can say our promise verse and tell the devil we’re standing on it.

Wear cute boots. And kick the devil off your property!

Leave a Reply

Categories

