Posted by: kathryngraves | April 25, 2012

God’s Face

“Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance.” Psalm 42:5 NKJ

When I grew weary of suffering I began to fight a spiritual battle. I complained and cried and fought what was happening to me. And I wasso sad.This verse talks about hope and help coming from “His countenance.” What is God’s countenance? It is His face. How does the face of God help us?

I was at the bottom of despair and pain when I read this verse. Immediately God let me know–and then experience–that when I am in such deep need, He comes beside me and brushes my face with His. Like a mama cat nudging her face along her kitten’s face. Offering strength and assurance in the most gentle way.

Just spend some time letting God’s cheek brush yours. Like a hug. A caress. When no one else understands, He does. He knows what kind of comfort we need. I needed something different from you, but we both need God’s tender touch.

After spending this time, then we can say verse 11 with the Psalmist. “Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; For I shall yet praise Him, the help of my countenance and my God.”

Notice how it turns around in verse 11 – “the help of my countenance.” His face touching ours results in a change in our faces. I was able to stop focusing on my pain and suffering and have a pleasant face and a positive attitude.

Honestly, I couldn’t keep it up unless I kept these verses in front of me. I wrote them on index cards and put them where I’d see them. It required constant reminding and I needed to feel the face of God against mine daily to make it through. But those verses were a huge key to my survival spiritually and emotionally.

Leave a Reply

Categories

