Posted by: kathryngraves | February 29, 2012

Starting Over

I left this site for a few years after some frustrations with technology and a year-long bout with breast cancer. But the Lord is prompting me to get back up and write. So here I am. So much has changed since my last post here.

My life was amazing. Everything was going right. I published my first Bible study, my Premier Designs jewelry business was hopping, our church was building a new 23,000 square-foot family life center, our kids were happy and we had our first grandchild on September 21, 2009. Then I was diagnosed with cancer on March 7, 2011. I plunged into chemotherapy, surgery, and radiation. I wanted to know why. When our spiritual lives are at their most vibrant, we are taught to believe our lives will be blessed  and we equate blessing with good things.

I now know blessings come through many things that aren’t good. The lessons I learned from suffering are what I’ll be posting about for a while here. I have much I want to say. The question we need to answer isnt’ “why?”, but “what?”. What does God want to do in this situation?

In my case, God wanted me to slow down and focus only on Him. He wanted to soften me. He wanted to start over, fresh. Like the ocean breeze I’m sure is blowing in the photo.

I’ll also be writing articles on StoryWritingStudio.wordpress.com and devotions on KathrynGraves.com (Exploring the Bible).

See you around,

Kathryn

Responses

  1. Welcome back, Kathryn, and hoping the blog refreshes you rather than depleting you.

    • Thank you, Carol.

      I’ve been waiting for God to show me when and what to write. After almost a year of no writing at all, He has thrown the doors wide open. I have much pent up that I want to share.

  2. So thankful for the work that God’s done in your life! And I look forward to following your blog again. Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Categories

