Posted by: kathryngraves | February 18, 2009

The Broken Things

A lot of you know I sell Premier Designs jewelry. I love working for this company, and as I spoke at a show last night, I said something that caught my attention today. I know, that’s a little slow on the draw, but sometimes God has to let things simmer in my mind a while before he draws the conclusion.

Premier Designs has a guarantee on their jewelry they call the “Golden Guarantee,” which says they will replace any defective piece, free, within sixty days, or for only five dollars plus tax after sixty days. They don’t repair the broken piece, they replace it with a new one.

You know, God does the same thing for us. He takes all our broken things as we “send” them to him, and replaces them with new. He took the old, broken life I had when I offered it to him, and changed me into a completely new creature. No, not a creepy, crawly creature, a whole new me.

Every time I mess up, when I take the mess to him in prayer, he takes the mess and gives me a fresh, clean slate.

When a necklace breaks, beads can fall all over the floor. Just as a woman is left with stray beads under the kitchen table until she sweeps them up, I’m left with the consequences of my sin until I make amends with whomever I hurt. But the broken necklace gets replaced. And my broken relationship with Christ gets renewed.

Jesus takes my sin, and the Bible tells me he throws it as far away as the east is from the west. Like the song by Casting Crowns says, I’m so glad Jesus knows how far the east is from the west–from one scarred hand to the other.

I pray brand-new wholeness for you,

Kathryn

Leave a Reply

Categories

